Start Rootfire Radio

powered by Spotify

Tribal Seeds


Genre: Roots-Rock-Reggae
Hometown: San Diego, CA
Years Active: (2005–present)


Steve Jacobo: Vocals, Guitar
Victor Navarro: Bass
Ryan Gonzo: Guitar, Vocals
Luis Castillo: Keys/Vocals
Danny Lopilato: Keys/Vocals
Jamey "Zeb" Dekofsky: Drums


Label: Tribal Seeds Music, iSeed Industries LLC
Management Company: Pacific Music Company
Managers: Rams / Jose,
Booking Agency: Paradigm Agency
Booking Agents: Corrie Christopher, Ira Goldenring,


Roots Party EP (2017) Representing (2014) The Harvest (2009) Tribal Seeds (2008) Youth Rebellion (2005) Soundwaves (1999)



From San Diego, California, award-winning reggae group Tribal Seeds have become known for their spiritually driven, refreshing rock vibe they have infused with their roots style of reggae music. Originally started by two brothers, Steven Rene Jacobo (lyrics, vocals, guitar) and Tony-Ray Jacobo (producer). Tribal Seeds now boasts six members, including: Victor Navarro (bass), Ryan Gonzo (guitar, vocals), Luis Castillo (keyboard, vocals) & Zeb (drums).

Tribal Seeds’ unmatched musical talent and authentic sound has brought them to the forefront of the reggae rock genre, as their art form has reached people of all ages across the United States, and worldwide. The band’s debut, self titled album “Tribal Seeds” was released in 2008 with their second album “The Harvest” following, June of 2009. iTunes named both albums “Best Of” in the Reggae genre, for their respected years. Their debut album helped garner them the “Best World Music” title at the San Diego Music Awards in 2008, and “The Harvest,” which contained fourteen new and original songs, debuted at the number 5 spot on the Billboard Reggae Charts. The tracks, written and produced by Tribal Seeds, were recorded and mixed by Alan Sanderson at Signature Sound Studios in San Diego, and mastered by Erik Lobson at Universal Mastering.

In 2014,  Tribal Seeds released their highly anticipated fourth album, Representing. The new album debuted at Number 1 on the Billboard, iTunes & Amazon Reggae Charts and cracked the Top Billboard 200 at Number 114. The new album is sure to not only reaffirm but solidify their pioneering classic blend of Roots and new era Rock-Reggae. The album brings you 12 original recordings and features some of the genres favorite stars: Don Carlos, Mykal Rose, Kyle McDonald (Slightly Stoopid), Vaughn Benjamin (Midnite), New Kingston and the band’s own, Maad T-Ray and lead guitarist Gonzo.

Tribal Seeds released an EP entitled Roots Party on December 1st, 2017 which debuted at the top of the charts (number 1 on Billboard, iTunes & Amazon). The EP consists of five new tracks including; Aroma, Gunsmoke (feat Protoje), Roots Party, Empress and Rude Girl, along with 3 dub tracks. (The European version of Roots Party is scheduled for release on June 6th, 2018. The album will include five bonus tracks). The band is currently working on their full length album scheduled to be released in 2019.

Tribal Seeds have toured throughout the United States, and have also performed in Mexico, Guam & Aruba. They have shared the stage with artists such as Dave Matthews Band, Jack White, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jane’s Addiction, Skrillex, MGMT, Cee Lo Green, Jason Mraz, Matisyahu, Sublime with Rome, Taking Back Sunday, O.A.R., Pretty Lights, Steel Pulse, Julian Marley, Stephen Marley, Gregory Isaacs, SOJA, Rebelution, and many more.